LOVE Island stars and Jeremy Kyle guests will appear in front of MPs probing reality TV – after a string of tragic deaths.

Chris Williamson, Marcel Somerville and Yewande Biala will chat to the government committee to discuss the representation of race and gender and the role of producers in the hit ITV2 show.

While Dwayne Davison and Robert Gregory will chat to MPs about appearing on Kyle’s show.

Yewande appeared on Love Island this year while Williamson and Somerville took part in previous series.


They will discuss the role of producers "in influencing the behaviour of participants, the mental health support provided to participants and whether recent reforms have gone far enough", according to MPs on the Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee.

They will also talk about "representations of race, gender and body image and contestant preparedness for life after Love Island".

ITV boss Dame Carolyn McCall previously defended Love Island from claims that contestants from a Bame background get "less of a fair ride".

Love Island has come under increased scrutiny over the aftercare it offers following the deaths of former contestants Sophie Gradon and Mike Thalassitis.


ITV axed The Jeremy Kyle Show in May following the death of guest Steve Dymond.

MPs said both Dwayne and Robert "have said publicly that the aftercare given to them was not robust and has had a serious negative impact on their lives".

The committee has been investigating the use of lie detector and DNA tests on the former show.

MPs have criticised TV bosses for not knowing enough about lie detector tests.

Presenter Kyle, who is piloting a new show for ITV, has been asked to appear before MPs but has not done so.

Mr Dymond, 63, died around a week after reportedly failing a love-cheat lie detector test on Kyle's confrontational daytime programme.

The construction worker was found in his room in Portsmouth on May 9 after splitting from on-off fiancee Jane Callaghan.

ITV recently announced Love Island will run for two series next year.

The committee session will take place at 2.30pm on Wednesday September 4.

Source: Read Full Article