THE World Cup is finally here, with football's best players ready to impress on the global stage.

Brazil, France, Argentina, Germany, England and others will all be vying to win the sport's biggest prize in Qatar.

Stars such as Kylian Mbappe, Harry Kane, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are ready to show off their talents.

The World Cup Golden Boot is one of the tournament's most coveted prizes, with some of football's legends having won it in the past.

Brazilian Ronaldo, Gary Lineker, Gerd Muller and Eusebio have all picked up the award before.

England's Harry Kane won it in 2018, and he'll be hoping to do it all over again in Qatar.

Read more on World Cup

Qatar beer ban could cost Fifa staggering £40M with Budweiser World Cup deal

What does the OneLove World Cup armband mean and who else is wearing them?

France's Karim Benzema, who won the Ballon d'Or earlier this year, WON'T be involved, however, as he has been ruled out of the tournament through injury.

But Brazil superstars Neymar and Vinicius Jr will be eager to bring the award back to the South American country.

In 2006 and 2010, Germany stars Miroslav Klose and Thomas Muller bagged the Golden Boot.

Colombia superstar James Rodriguez won it in 2014 but he won't be involved in this tournament as his country failed to qualify.

Most read in Football


Kane to end 56 yrs of hurt as England kick off & he defies Fifa on armband


Qatar beer ban could cost Fifa staggering £40M with Budweiser World Cup deal


Qatar brushes off controversy as World Cup opening ceremony kicks off


World Cup fans rage as BBC SNUBS entire Qatar opening ceremony

Who has scored this week?

The likes of Harry Kane, Kylian Mbappe and Cristiano Ronaldo will all have their chance to hit the back of net this week.

But Ecuador's Enner Valencia got off to the perfect start having bagged a double on the World Cup opener against the hosts Qatar.

World Cup Golden Boot standings

*Correct as of November 21 – 8am

  1. Enner Valencia – Ecuador – 2

Source: Read Full Article