WINNING a Grand Slam title is considered the pinnacle of tennis – and the US Open is next up for grabs.

Novak Djokovic sent Wimbledon Centre Court into a frenzy when he battled from a set down to overcome Nick Kyrgios in the SW19 final.

Whilst The King of the Clay Rafael Nadal put in a scintillating performance to outdo former mentee Casper Rudd in the French Open a month before.

Which added to Nadal's Australia Open Grand Slam at the beginning of the year when he defeated Danlil Medvedev in a dramatic five-setter.

But who has won the most Grand Slams in men's tennis and how many are up for grabs each year?

Who has won most men's tennis Grand Slams?

In a game such as tennis where there is intense focus on the individual, making it through a world-class knockout tournament is no mean feat.

Andy Murray – Britain's most successful male player in the modern era – has won three Slams in his career but doesn't get near to the most successful on the list.

It's Fred Perry who is the Brits Grand Slam king with nine titles, level on the leaderboard with Ken Rosewall, Jimmy Connors, Ivan Lendl and Andre Agassi.

Bill Tilden comes next with ten, before Bjorn Borg and Rod Laver with eleven.

Roy Emerson – who won a total of 28 slam titles if you count doubles – holds 12 single titles and sits just behind the top four.

That leaves us with the current big three – Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and Nadal – along with Pete Sampras.

Sampras has 14 titles to his name, Federer is on 20 triumphs whilst Djokovic's Wimbledon win has nudged him ahead of the Swiss icon to 21.

But thanks to his victory in Paris, Rafael Nadal now has 22 Grand Slam titles.

And the Spaniard has won a staggering thirteen of those on clay at the French Open.

Most read in Tennis


Inspired Serena keeps US Open dream alive as she wins opening match in New York


Serena wins in New York to book second round spot


Why does Serena Williams wear plasters on her face when she plays?


When is Emma Raducanu playing at the US Open 2022?

Who has won the most Grand Slams?

Rafael Nadal – 22
Novak Djokovic – 21
Roger Federer – 20
Pete Sampras – 14
Roy Emerson – 12
Rod Laver – 11
Bjorn Borg – 11
Bill Tilden – 10
Jimmy Connors – 8
Fred Perry – 8
Andre Agassi – 8
Ivan Lendl – 8
Ken Rosewall – 8

How many Grand Slams are there each year?

There are a total of four Grand Slams every tennis season across four different countries:

  • Australian Open
  • French Open
  • Wimbledon
  • US Open

What was the Wimbledon final result?

Novak Djokovic beat Nick Kyrgios in a gruelling match at SW19 4-6 6-3 6-4 7-6 (7-3)

This result means that the Serbian superstar is only ONE behind leading Grand Slam winner Rafael Nadal.

Also, Djokovic remains undefeated at Wimbledon since 2013.

    Source: Read Full Article