MICHAEL SMITH is slugging it out against Peter Wright for the 2022 PDC World Darts Championship at Ally Pally.

Bully Boy Smith had reached the final before, in 2019, but lost 7-3 on that occasion to Michael van Gerwen.


Smith said after beating James Wade to reach the final this year: "I have worked hard for this.

"You are not gifted things in life. I don’t deserve this, I have worked hard for it. I have trusted my throw."

Smith vs Wright betting – final tips and free bets for World Darts showpiece

Who is Michael Smith?

Michael Smith is a 31-year-old darts player from St Helens.

Smith has yet to win a major title, though he has been runner up at the PDC World Championship (2019), World Matchplay (2019), The Masters (2020) and the Premier League (2018).

Family man Smith loves to share his life with wife Dagmara and two sons to his 38,000 Instagram followers.

What is Michael Smith's net worth?

Smith's net worth is not known. However Bully Boy has spoken about the importance of winning tournaments and prize money to buy properties, one of which he has converted into a farm.

He said: “Even a year ago, I’d given up.

“But we’d just bought a new house and the money I shell out every month on mortgages, I can’t afford to give darts away and lose matches.

“If I miss mortgages, we’re out on the streets. We are homeless. I knows it adds added pressure, but it’s keeping me focused.

“I have to keep ready. It has been showing what I have been working on for the last 12 months has worked.”

What is the PDC World Darts Championship prize money?

(total £2,500,00 prize money payed out)

  • Winner – £500,000
  • Runner-up – £200,000
  • Semi-final – £100,000
  • Quarter-final – £50,000
  • Fourth round – £35,000
  • Third round – £25,000
  • Second round – £15,000
  • First round – £7,500

Full schedule

Thursday, December 30

  • Raymond Smith 3-4 Mervyn King
  • Alan Soutar 1-4 Callan Rydz
  • Chris Dobey 3-4 Luke Humphries
  • James Wade 4-0 Martijn Kleermaker
  • Gary Anderson 4-3 Rob Cross
  • Peter Wright 4-1 Ryan Searle

Friday, December 31

No play

Saturday, January 1 – Quarter-finals

  • Gerwyn Price 4-5 Michael Smith
  • James Wade 5-0 Mervyn King
  • Peter Wright 5-4 Callan Rydz
  • Luke Humphries 2-5 Gary Anderson

Sunday, January 2 Semi-finals

  • Michael Smith 6-3 James Wade
  • Peter Wright 6-4 Gary Anderson

Monday, January 3

  • Michael Smith vs Peter Wright

Most read in Other Sports

    Source: Read Full Article