THE zodiac is divided into 12 segments or houses which are each ruled by a different sign.

Each house rules a different area of our life and when an astrologer interprets your chart, they look at the meaning of each planet as well as the house and the sign it’s in to predict any pitfalls or pleasantries you’ll face in this lifetime. Blimey.

What do the 12 houses represent?

Each house represents a different aspect of life, from romance to career, and every planet in your chart is nestled in both a sign and a house.

These two placements highlight how a planet’s influence can affect your life.

Now even we're getting a bit confused with all of this, but according to wellandgood a good place to start is to find out which house your sun sign is in.

To do this, just put your birth time, place, and location into a natal chart, like this one online, and scroll down to the description of your sun sign. There, you’ll find out what house it’s in.

According to astrologer Chani Nicholas: “The house that the sun is in within your chart tells you a key area of life in which your essential life purpose is lived out and where you need to express yourself.”

Ok, we can get on board with that. Basically, whichever house your sun sign is in represents a major part of your life and one which you should pay serious attention to.

The first six houses are known as the personal houses, while the last six houses are known as the interpersonal houses. Let's have a look at what each one means.

List of 12 star signs

The traditional dates used by Mystic Meg for each sign are below.

  • Capricorn: December 22 – January 20
  • Aquarius: January 21 – February 18
  • Pisces: February 19 – March 20
  • Aries: March 21 – April 20
  • Taurus: April 21 – May 21
  • Gemini: May 22 – June 21
  • Cancer:  June 22 – July 22
  • Leo: July 23 – August 23
  • Virgo: August 24 – September 22
  • Libra: September 23 – October 23
  • Scorpio: October 24 – November 22
  • Sagittarius: November 23 – December 21

The First House: First impressions

This house is ruled by Aries and controls the image we project to others, the first impression we make and how we get the ball rolling.

It also determines our defence mechanisms, our general outlook on life, and our physical appearance.

The Second House: Self-worth and money

The second house is ruled by Taurus and refers to income, money, and self-esteem.

It also gives us a sense of our self-worth and basic values. This house knows right from wrong.

The Third House: Communication

It's no surprise this house is ruled by orator extraordinaire Gemini.

This house represents the way we communicate and interact with others as well as public speaking,language skills, media and communications.

The Fourth House: Family and home

This house is ruled by security-conscious Cancer and cements the basic foundations of our life.

This includes our home, family and nurturing abilities.

The Fifth House: Self-expression, creativity and romance

This house is ruled by, yes, you guessed it, perennial performer Leo.

It determines the way we express ourselves creatively, the way we like to entertain, our hobbies and most importantly our relationship with romance. We like this house.

The Sixth House: Work and health

The house is ruled by Virgo and is in charge of our daily routine, diet, exercise and healthy living.

It also highlights how we can be helpful to others. If any sign is going to get us organised it's Virgo.

The Seventh House: Partnership and marriage

This house ruled by fair-minded and balanced Libra is focused on all our partnerships, both business and personal.

It also determines relationship contracts, including marriage and business deals.

The Eighth House: Sexuality and evolution

This mysterious firecracker of a house is ruled by seductress extraordinaire Scorpio.

It determines our attitude towards change, sexuality, sex, death and psychology as well as taxes and inheritance.

The Ninth House: Education and beliefs

This globetrotting house is ruled by travel queen Sagittarius.

It relates to our sense of adventure, religious beliefs, higher education, long-distance travel, foreign languages and business acumen.

The Tenth House: Career and reputation

This hardworking house is ruled by gifted grafter Capricorn.

It determines what job we do, our reputation, material success and the legacy we leave in terms of our contribution to society.

Most read in Horoscopes


July 27: A set of three matching jewellery items can spark family riches


Virgo traits: The best and worst characteristics if you have a Virgo star sign

Sign up here

Zodiac signs and star sign dates in order: Which month are you?


Taurus horoscope: Star sign dates, traits, compatibility and personality

The Eleventh House: Goals and aspirations

Ruled by go-getter Aquarius, this house governs our hopes and desires as well as the way we treat others.

If your sun sign is in this house pay particular attention to your deepest wishes as they are definitely trying to tell you something.

The Twelfth House: Soul searching and secrets

Ruled by dreamy Pisces, this house rules that which can't be seen or is hiding below the surface.

Think karma, soul searching, hidden strengths and weaknesses as well as any business which goes on behind closed doors. Very deep energy.

    Source: Read Full Article